Pioneer Awards

The National Space Biomedical Research Institute Pioneer Award recognizes individuals whose efforts and accomplishments have blazed new trails on behalf of the Institute, its partnership with NASA and the space biomedical community at large. The award was established in 2009 and is typically presented each year during the Human Research Program Investigators’ Workshop.


Dinges Photo031704

2016 – David F. Dinges, Ph.D.


2015 – Jeffrey P. Sutton, M.D., Ph.D.

Abbey Bio photo copy

2014 – George W.S. Abbey

Young_SA03401 copy

2013 – Laurence R. Young, Sc.D.

kay bailey copy

2012 – U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison

Brady copy

2011 – Joseph V. Brady, Ph.D.


2010 – Bobby R. Alford, M.D.

  Photo on 1-25-16 at 5.45 PM copy

2009 – Charles F. Sawin, Ph.D.