Board of Directors

NSBRI’s Board of Directors is comprised of two representatives from each consortium member, two industry representatives, two at-large community representatives and two senior medical statesmen.

Bobby R. Alford, M.D., Chairman
Distinguished Service Professor
Baylor College of Medicine

James B. Bassingthwaighte, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Bioengineering, Biomathematics and Radiology
University of Washington

Joseph V. Bonventre, M.D., Ph.D.
Samuel A. Levine Professor of Medicine
Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology
Harvard University

Thomas Caskey, M.D.
Professor of Molecular and Human Genetics
Baylor College of Medicine

Lawrence E. Cornett, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Peter F. Davies, Ph.D.
Robinette Foundation Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine
Professor of Bioengineering
University of Pennsylvania
Co-Director, Penn NIBIB Interfaces Program

Scott L. Friedman, M.D.
Dean for Therapeutic Discovery
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Glen N. Gaulton, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Vice Dean and Director, Center for Global Health
University of Pennsylvania Health System

Sandra A. Harris-Hooker, Ph.D.
Vice President and Executive Dean, Research and Academic Administration
Morehouse School of Medicine

Jeffrey A. Hoffman, Ph.D.
Professor of the Practice of Aerospace Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Eugene H. Levy, Ph.D.
Andrew Hays Buchanan Professor of Astrophysics
Rice University

Robert E. McGehee, Jr., Ph.D.
Dean of the UAMS Graduate School
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Antonios G . Mikos, Ph.D.
Louis Calder Professor of Bioengineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Rice University

Elizabeth O. Ofili, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean, Clinical and Translational Research
Morehouse School of Medicine

Warren Olanow, M.D.
Henry P. and Georgette Goldschmidt Professor
Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Neurology
Professor of Neuroscience
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Bert W. O’Malley, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine

Martin A. A. Schoonen, Ph.D.
Associate Laboratory Director, Environment, Biology, Nuclear Science and Nonproliferation Directorate
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Professor of Geochemistry
Stony Brook University

Artin A. Shoukas, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Biomedical Engineering
Johns Hopkins University

Jeffrey A. Simmen, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Applied Physics Laboratory

Samuel C.C. Ting, Ph.D.
Thomas D. Cabot Professor of Physics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

R.E. Tribble, Ph.D.
Deputy Director for Science & Technology
Brookhaven National Laboratory

Col. James S. Voss
U.S. Army (ret.)
NASA Astronaut (Former)
Scholar in Residence, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
University of Colorado

Col. Carl E. Walz
U.S. Air Force (ret.)
NASA Astronaut (Former)
Director of Business Development
Oceaneering International, Inc.

Denis Wirtz, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research; Theophilus H. Smoot Professor of Engineering
Johns Hopkins University

Ex Officio
Robert J. Corrigan, Jr.
Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Baylor College of Medicine

Ex Officio
Julie Do
NSBRI Chief Financial Officer

Ex Officio
Ralph Lydic, Ph.D.
Robert H. Cole Endowed Professor of Neuroscience
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratory
NSBRI External Advisory Council Chairman

Ex Officio
Jeffrey P. Sutton, M.D., Ph.D.
NSBRI President and CEO
Institute Director