External Advisory Council

The External Advisory Council (EAC) consists of leaders in research fields central to the Institute’s mission. Members provide advice to NSBRI management concerning programmatic relevance and effectiveness. Advice from EAC members is based on personal expertise and experience, and is not to be construed as reflecting the views of the members’ professional affiliations or organizations. EAC members are not from consortium institutions.

Ralph Lydic, Ph.D.
External Advisory Council Chairman
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Theodore W. Berger, Ph.D.
University of Southern California

Malcolm M. Cohen, Ph.D.
NASA Ames Research Center

Bonnie J. Dunbar, Ph.D., NAE FRSE (corr)
Texas A&M University

Karyn Esser, Ph.D.
University of Florida

Earl W. Ferguson, M.D., Ph.D.
Sun BioMedical Technologies, Inc.

Peter A. Hancock, D.Sc., Ph.D.
University of Central Florida

Harry C. Holloway, M.D.
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Robert Jeraj, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin

William E. Kraus, M.D.
Duke University

Barbara R. Morgan, Ph.D.
Boise State University

Jeffrey S. Norris, Ph.D.
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Angus H. Rupert, M.D., Ph.D.
U.S. Army Aeromedical Research Lab

Michael N. Sawka, Ph.D.
Georgia Institute of Technology

Diane L. Schneider, M.D.
University of California, San Diego

Jack W. Stuster, Ph.D.
Anacapa Sciences, Inc.

Kai E Thomenius, Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jacqueline P. Williams, Ph.D.
University of Rochester

Ex Officio
Bobby R. Alford, M.D.
NSBRI Chairman of the Board of Directors

Ex Officio
Leroy Chiao, Ph.D.
NSBRI User Panel Chairman

Ex Officio
Jeffrey P. Sutton, M.D., Ph.D.
NSBRI President and CEO
Institute Director